The Blues Have Found Gary Fortine

VERY SAD to learn of the passing of blues musician/78 record collector/longtime friend Gary Fortine in Cincinnati this week …

He possessed a massive collection of pre-WW2 recordings (including several choice Irish/Irish-American rarities) and was a literal “walking encyclopedia” of knowledge concerning American Roots Music …

He played a great blues guitar and harmonica (once gigged with Big Walter Horton!) and was an outstanding human with an indomitable sense of humor …

Made a tune for him just now, “Gary Fortine” … a moderately slow Slow Air – works as a sort of pegleg strathspey, too.

* Gary Fortine – L.E. McCullough, piano

I’ve got rocks in my bed, and I just can’t lay down there no more, no more.
I’ve got rocks in my bed, and I just can’t lay down there no more, no more.
Old rockin’ chair’s got me, and the blues is knockin’ on my door.
— Lonnie Johnson

About 1bigsoul

12th Generation American trying to convince this country to live up to its promise of liberty and justice for All.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Blues Have Found Gary Fortine

  1. Jonathan Polacheck says:

    It is a sad day

Leave a comment